Driving while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both is not allowed as it can harm a lot of people, including the driver. If one commits such action, they will definitely be punished, especially when their action costs a life.
For those who are wondering how many years in jail for drunk driving and killing someone, the answer varies, depending on the state.
In Delaware, if one drives a vehicle while under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both, and their criminally negligent conduct results in death, it is called vehicular homicide. The case is counted as a Class C felony. The jail time for this case is 2 years imprisonment and that one is not eligible for probation, parole, furlough, work release or supervised custody during the first 18 months of the sentence. Meanwhile, if one drives a vehicle while under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both, and results in death of another, it is called vehicular homicide. The case is included as a Class D felony. For your information, the minimum sentence required shall be one year. In addition, that one is not eligible for parole, probation, furlough, work release or supervised custody during the first year of the sentence.
In Alaska, killing someone while driving can be considered as a second degree murder, manslaughter, or criminally negligent homicide. Everything depends on the facts surrounding the death. The second degree murder is known as an unclassified felony and the jail time is usually not less than 15 years nor more than 99 years. Manslaughter is included in a class A felony and the jail time is not more than 20 years in prison. As for the criminally negligent homicide, it is counted as a class B felony and the jail team is usually not more than 10 years.
In Alabama, if someone commits the crime of criminally negligent homicide by resulting in death of another through criminally neglected conduct and if the death is caused while operating a vehicle under influence, the punishment is increased to a Class C felony. The jail time is no more than 10 years of less than 1 year and one day.
In Arkansas, someone who commits negligent homicide and results in the death of another person because of operating a vehicle while under influence is counted as negligent homicide. The jail time is unknown.
In Colorado, if one drives a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both, and results in death, that one is guilty of vehicular homicide. This kind of crime is included in class 3 felony. The jail time is determined by the date the felony was committed.
In Connecticut, the hail time of the DUI case resulting in death varies from one to 10 years. It is apparently included as a Class C felony. The license or the nonresident operating privilege of the person will be suspended by the court for one year. Not only that, the person will also be prohibited to operate any motor vehicle that is not equipped with an approved ignition interlock device for a period of two years after the license or the nonresident operating privilege of that one is restored by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.
In Georgia, if one drives a vehicle while under influence of drugs, alcohol, or both and results in death of another person and acts without malice aforethought, the jail time is not less than three years or more than 15 years. If it is not the first time for that person to commit such a crime and the driver’s license of that one has been revoked and results in the death of another by driving under influence without aforethought, the jail time varies, ranging from less than 5 years to no more than 20 years. If one drives a vehicle while under influence and results in death of another without the intention, the jail time is usually less than 12 months. Besides, there is also a fine that is usually not to exceed $1,000.
In Florida, if one drives under the influence of drugs or alcohol or with a prohibited alcohol or drug content, and results in death of another person, or an unborn viable fetus, if at the time when the accident happened the person knew or should have known the accident occurred, it is called DUI manslaughter. The jail time is not more than 15 years. However, if the person knew or should have known that that case occurred and failed to help the injured and or drying person, the jail time is not more than 30 years.
In California, driving while under influence causing death is lawful killing of a human without malice aforethought and the killing was either the proximate result of an unlawful act and not amounting to a felony. The jail time of this kind of case varies, ranging from 4 to 10 years. Aside from that, it could be vehicular manslaughter. This one is described as the driving of a vehicle under influence, and the death of another was the proximate case of driving while under influence, but does not amount to a felony, and with gross negligence. If it results in a death, a person can be convicted. It can be called second degree if the driver acted with implied malice. If the action causes more than one death, the jail time is added by one year for each victim. Talking about the jail time for this case, it is usually not more than one year in county jail, or 16 months, or 2 years or 4 years in state prison.
In Illinois, if one drives a vehicle while under influence and causes a death of another person, the jail time will be no more than 14 years if there is only one death and will be ranging from 6 years to 28 years if there are two or more deaths.
You are suggested to open this link if you want to know about the other states tap here.